Thoughts

Just some thoughts I’ve had during the offseason…

First off, the decision to start weekday games at 6:30 instead of 7:00pm is brilliant. Fans will get more sunshine during the games and more sleep at night.

The Vipers official twitter @CalgaryVipers is a great way to follow the team and get free stuff. I even won something a while ago (but was unable to collect, but that’s my fault).

CalgaryVipers.com looks like it’ll actually be a serviceable website this year. I’m impressed. Also, I don’t know how accurate the roster page is, but it looks like the Vipers have a lot if holes to fill (even after the Jonny Kaplan signing).

I read that we’ll be able to buy tickets online and print them off ourselves so we don’t have to wait in line, but I’ll believe that when I see it (I’m hopeful though).

Seriously, opening day (May 26) can’t come soon enough.

This entry was posted in Calgary Vipers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thoughts

  1. Drew Miller says:

    Hey its good to see that you are back again this year. I always look forward to what is written on here through out the year. As you said season can’t come soon enough. Team is looking good and can’t wait for the fun to begin.

  2. bbfan says:

    A couple new Vipers who have yet to be announced to public are Wilver Perez and Brian Rios both who played in Victoria last year, and will help the Vipers a lot.

  3. xolager says:

    That’s good news, bbfan. I really enjoyed watching Perez during the Championship run.

  4. xolager says:

    (does double take)

    Thanks for the kind words Drew (or is it Mr. Miller?). I didin’t notice your comment yesterday but you’re right, the season can’t start soon enough. Good luck that thanks for coming back!

  5. Jason says:

    The only move that was suprising, to me, was not bringing back Brent Metheney. Solid first baseman; good bat.( Perhaps he didn’t want to return?) Otherwise, all the new additions are great, (Rios,Perez) and all the subtractions were deserved. Visiting the Baseball Academy as much as I did over the winter, I sense a growing interest in the city for baseball & anticipate bigger crowds and more support for the Vipers!

  6. xolager says:

    Jason,

    I think you’re right. The Vipers are doing some good things on social media and there seems to be more of a buzz this year than years previous. Can’t wait for opening day.

Leave a Reply

